The Baja 1000

The Baja 1000

Every November, hundreds of race teams and thousands of racing enthusiasts converge on the Baja peninsula take part in the most famous off road race in the world - The Baja 1000. This historic off road race started back in 1967 and has run every year except for 1974. The race vehicles include motorcycles, quads, and numerous classes of cars including Baja Bugs, Trophy Trucks, Baja Challenge cars and UTV's. Traditionally the Baja 1000 has started in Ensenada and ended in La Paz making the race course a straight shot down the peninsula, but it has also been run as a loop race that starts and ends in Northern Baja. Keeping with tradition, the 43rd annual Tecate SCORE 2010 Baja 1000 will start in Ensenada and finish in La Paz for a total distance of almost 1073 brutally challenging miles. Racers will have 45 hours from their start time in order complete the course and cross the finish line in La Paz. To finish is a victory in and of itself, and to be the overall winner is quite likely the highest honor in off road racing.

This year the race will have teams from 35 states and 15 different countries including Australia, Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, South Africa. For up to date information about the race, visit the SCORE International website. The 2010 Baja 1000 will air on NBC on December 19th. Below is a three part Baja 1000 preview by Race Dezert featuring racer Cameron Steele.

2010 Baja 1000 preview, part 1 of 3 from Race Dezert.

2010 Baja 1000 preview, part 2 of 3 from Race Dezert.

2010 Baja 1000 preview, part 3 of 3 from Race Dezert.